SNF charge nurses or DON - a few questions

I am interested in getting some input from nurses who have SNF experience, and in particular those who may have served as Director of Nursing or ADON.

How challenging/stressful is the setting? Do nurses there generally feel overworked and underpaid? If you were a DON, how much time was spent filling in on the floor and how much was spent doing administrative work? If you were a DON, did you carry a pager or were you expected to be on call 24/7? Of course it all depends on geographic area and the facility itself, but I’m curious approx. how much is the salary? How stressful is a facility survey? (been through those in dialysis and home health, so I think I already know the answer). What strengths do you think are most important to work in the SNF setting?

Any stories, good-bad-or ugly, particularly from a DON, would be helpful to me. I have no SNF experience except as a student, however I am an RN with over 20 years of teaching and hands on nursing experience.

I don’t know how much help this will be because I’m in Australia but I’ll give you some of my thoughts.

I currently work as a 2CO in a largeish aged care facility. My duties are flexible because I was taken on super-numerary mainly to facilitate an IT system which hasn’t yet been introduced. Currently, I’m filling in for a documentation nurse who left (yes, we have full-time documentors) but generally speaking, my job is a mix of clinical issues, CI, QA (meeting the hefty legislative requirements) and staff management.