Snow Plow learning curve?

My gf likes to have a “farm truck”. Her current truck is a 2004 Dodge Dakota. Although in excellent condition overall, she has a buyer and has found a newer replacement, a 2013 Silverado.

It just so happens the Silverado comes with a plow. I’ve never used a truck mounted plow. Anyone give me an idea how much effort I’ll need to expend to be able to mount/dismount/use the thing? Also, how heavy are they? Will two people be able to move it around or should I find a place it can be dismounted and remounted without moving it?

We’ll likely use it only after massive once every few years snowstorms. Our road is private, and the three families on the road all just brute force through the snow with 4WD.

I’ve been plowing my own drive and sometimes road for nearly 30 years.

I’m gonna guess that the plow is an 8’ steel job. just a straight plow that doesn’t butterfly/bend in the middle.

They can be a bitch, to relatively easy to take on and off. You will want to store it on a nice flat piece of ground. I would not count on two people being able to move the thing. If I absolutely have to move mine, I use a tractor. This is my current plow 412 lbs.

My plows claim to fame is that it’s easy to take on a take off. OK. It’s easier than most, but once I get it on, I leave it on. I also chain up my truck on all 4 wheels in the winter, so It never gets more than a mile or so away from the house.

Do note, that I have very serious winters where I live. Thirty feet of snow a season is not unusual.

I will probably think of more. I’ll be mounting my plow in mid October, then it won’t come off till May.

A friend of mine owns a landscape maintenance company and does plowing in the winter. He says that the best, fastest way to ruin a pickup is to plow snow with it.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t use it for personal use (and it beats most alternatives) but just a casual warning not to commit yourself (or herself) to doing more plowing than necessary.