So, apparently AI can create amazing optical illusions

As best as I can determine, the following images were created by AI, in conjunction with Stable Diffusion, a neural AI network. They are pretty amazing to me. Some are easier to see than others. Back away, squint or view as thumbnails for best effect.

And my favorite:

Wow. atleast5characters

Haha! The middle one was easiest, then the bottom, and then I burst out laughing at the top one.

That is amazing. Pretty easy for me to see when I take off my glasses. Wow. I wonder if it really is AI and what the prompting was to do this.

Wow, that’s impressive.

I’m currently a web developer, have worked as an illustrator in the past, and consider myself a halfway decent amateur hobby photographer.

I’m feeling more useless every day. :cry:

There’s a specific set of AI image tools used to make these; Stable Diffusion with Controlnet’s QRCode_Monster model. Stable Diffusion creates the main image, and Controlnet/QRCode_Monster is used to integrate an uploaded secondary image. It was originally developed to make working QR codes out of images but it works for simple shapes and text as well. Somebody noticed how well it integrates text a couple of months ago and voila, a whole new genre of optical illusions was born.

Well, they are not really “optical illusions.” They are just images with different emphasis in their high and low-resolution components.
Dali did it ages ago:

I could not for the life of me figure out what was so remarkable about three perfectly ordinary pictures, and eventually leaned back in my chair still wondering. Since I’m near-sighted and don’t wear my glasses when using the computer, things got a bit blurred and suddenly the hidden magic revealed itself! :slight_smile:

And yes, it was the middle one that revealed itself first.

What am I supposed to be seeing? #1 is “odd.” #2 isn’t particularly. #3… ?

I don’t wear (or need) glasses.

Zoom out, make the images really small.