So I'm a scientist: How do I "do" research?

Okay, I’m not actually a scientist, yet. I’m a 2nd year electrical eng. student.

This is one of those things they never teach you in school - how is research actually done? If I have an idea I want to test, a trend I want to investigate - how do I go about doing it?

One thing I’ve always been interested in is meteorology, and one thing I’d like to investigate is the oft-noted tendancy for rain to temporarily cease immediately after a lightning/thunder event. I certainly don’t have the ability to do the research on my own. Now, there are some meteorology courses at my Univ. would it be acceptable for me to outright approach one of these profs and ask them what they think?? Is this an “appropriate” thing to do?

Sometimes I see news stories that feature something about students doing some unique research with a particular prof from Univ. XYZ…how are these arrangements made? Are the students just random friends with the prof and so the guy’s just helping them out? Is there a formal process one takes for this?

Specifically I’m addressing the issue of multidisciplinary research - I’m not a meteorologist so would I even “get my foot in the door”, so to speak?

Is it something I could conceivably do, but I’d have to wait for grad school?

(PS. My particular weather idea isn’t critical here; I’m just using it as an example.)

The Scientific Process

The Scientific Process(es)

It’s pretty rare to just strike out on your own original project until you are at a pretty advanced stage. Even post-docs are generally part of a larger ongoing research project that is building on previous work.

Does your degree require or offer the option of doing some sort of honors thesis? You might be able to combine something in your discipline with meteorology to come up with a project.