So, watcha doing for Thanksgiving?

I, for one, plan on doing two things:
-Being pretty miserable as one of a handful of people on campus not going home for the holiday.
-Spending a lot of my completely empty 5-day weekend writing for NaNoWriMo.

On that note, does anyone wanna give me a couple hundred bucks so I can fly cross-country home on Wednesday and then back on Sunday? :dubious:

Either sleeping late and then wasting the day away online or going with my boss and her husband to one of their family’s get-togethers if she wants me to. Same for Christmas and New Year’s.

I might get to go home next year. I don’t know for sure though.

Same thing I have been doing for the last 20 years. Head out into the desert with some friends, and eat, drink, shoot, and bullshit the holiday away. We take trucks down a jeep trail, so there is no of this “backpacking, keep it light” crap. I have more burners on the stove in the boonies than I do at home. We do a full dinner: turkey (done differently each year), all the fixings, wine, all the Good Stuff. Three big 8 person tents, 8 ice chests, inflatable queen-sized bed, etc.

We call this “Roughing It.” :smiley:

It will be the first holiday together for if6was9 with me and the kids. Wish us luck. :wink:

Hey, if I was going home, I’d invite you in (though I’m not sure what the parents would say.) But I can’t get anyone to give me something like $500 bucks to fly home either. So, if anyone wants to give me airfare from BWI to ABQ so I can take in some girl I’ve never met to spend the weekend at my parent’s house for Thanksgiving, it’d be really great.