So...why did it take so long for US manufactures to make a new design engine?

When I was a mechanic, all US cars, especially GM’s had engines which except for the maze of vacuum hoses and electronic ignition, a mechanic from the late 60’s would have no trouble recognizing them for what they were. A 229 was just a 305 with 2 cylinders chopped off, your old cast iron I-4 was just turned sideways so you had to remove engine mounts to replace the cap and rotor.

Why did it take as long as it did to get a truly new engine design rather than just tweaking what they had? Imports had already been killing them for years. By the time the Quad-Four came out, it didn’t seem very impressive and seemed like a bloated DOD effort.

What is the “new” engine design you are talking about. The Quad-Four was introduced in 1987.

It’s because there wasn’t anything particularly wrong with those engine designs, at least not for the larger cars Detroit believed people would resume buying after the small car fad ended. Indeed, there are still some highly-evolved decedents of 60’s design engines being sold today and giving very good service (the venerable Buick V6 is a good example).

The reason why most American cars of that vintage were terrible had nothing to do with the overall engine designs, but with the half-assed way in which the big-3 approached the emissions regulations. In hindsight, fuel injection always had to be the ultimate solution, but Detroit thought it could cobble together workable emissions systems by modifying the older fuel systems. Once they did go to fuel injection, those old 60’s engine designs worked great in big cars and trucks for many years later.