So, You Only Get One Shot At Burning Songs Onto A CD-R: Who Knew?

Using the last blank disc in the house last night, I went to burn some songs onto a CD for my daughter.

My great idea: Let’s burn one and see how that goes. Great!

So, now let’s burn the rest.

“Insert blank disc in Drive “E” and click retry.”

What? There’s tons of room left on this DC?

So, it’s an all or nothing process I guess. At least using Windows Media Player. Is there anyway around this?

I’m no expert, but I’m pretty sure that’s just a universal truth of CD-R. CD-RW, on the other hand…

Burning data to a CD-R includes a step called “finalizing” or “closing”, during which the disk is made complete by having its table of contents (and other stuff, I’m sure) written. I don’t burn disks in Media Player, so I don’t know if that can even be turned off there. Nero and other similar programs give you the option to turn that step off so you can incrementally add data to a disk. The drawback to that is, you can’t play an audio CD until it has been finalized.

As far as I’m aware, you get one burn per CD.

Unless you use CD-RWs, but all they allow you to do is erase the burn you did in order to do another burn. So you’re not adding to a previous burn.

Looks like you just made yourself a coaster! :slight_smile:

CDs support many different formats.
The most common format, for audio CDs, doesn’t support multiple sessions, or adding data after the table of contents has been closed.
Other formats support open TOCs or multiple sessions, so you can add data to an already-written CD-R, but these will not be compatible with an audio CD player.

When I burn a CD, does the Player “finalize” or “close” the disc?

A.

It depends on what type of CD you choose to burn. The Player automatically finalizes or closes audio CDs, but does not finalize data CDs. To create a finalized data CD, you must use another provider’s burning or CD authoring program.

Link