Society is doomed - 14,528 texts in one month

A 13 year old California girl recently sent 14,528 text messages in one month. This must be one of the warning signs of the either the Four Horsemen, the End of Days, or just plain flushing of society down the crapper.

If you were this kids parent, what would be your reaction?

Do you think this kid needs badly to get a life? A real life?

No. I’ve never understood why text-only communication is seen as intrinsically worse or less real than other forms of social interaction.

I never understood the need for so much communication.
I have been using my phone for 5 years and i havent crossed 3000 messages yet.

This kid probably needs a computer IMHO.

Yeah, it’s just a different form of obsessiveness, and that’s been around since time immemorial. One statistical outlier does not an apocalypse make.

On the other hand, that works out to a text every three minutes, 24/7. Damn.

I’m pretty sure it’s a sign of a 13 year old with no self-restraint. In other words… hardly worthy of notice.

If I were her parent, I’d tell her to lay off the texting during school hours or her phone is going away. Unless, of course, my plan didn’t include unlimited texting, in which case I’d be giving her the bad news about her college fund.

And everyone should have a life, otherwise they wind up worrying about the downfall of society at the hands of LOLing tweens.

Yeah, I’d be mostly concerned with all the texting at school. But, realistically speaking, if her grades weren’t suffering, she was getting enough sleep and she wasn’t displaying signs of compulsion around it, I’d probably just roll my eyes and leave it be.

(I mean, it seems obvious her personal relationships aren’t suffering…)

Can’t be a sign. Not divisible by 666. However, 30 messages per hour (counting off 8 hours for sleep)… did she run DOS attacks on enemy cell phones or something ? :slight_smile: