some house buying questions and advice needed

I’ll probably be relocating with teh family to the Seattle area. Looking on the east side. Anyhoo, I’m a newbie for US home purchasing and looking for some advice and questions answered. Access to the right school and work are my main drivers, and I haven’t figured out the schools yet (Lake Washington School District most likely). Ideally, within about a 5 mile radius of work.

I can do a $2-300k down payment but probably don’t want to go over $500k total price (but we could afford more). 2,000 sq foot + garage + yard will seem huge to us after living in Asia.

Anyhoo, would appreciate anyones thoughts, shared experience and advice.

What is a bank owned home? Are these generally a “good deal”? What should one look out for on a bank owned home?

What is a short sale, how does it work, and what to look out for?

what kind of tax break does one get on interest payments?

for the 1ST TIME HOMEBUYERS CREDIT, there is a salary cap. Is this based on the previous year’s salary or current year’s salary?

I watch a lot of HGTV, and from what I’ve gathered, bank owned homes and short sales can take longer than a “normal” purchase because there’s more bureaucracy involved - obviously the bank wants to get all their money, but they will take a loss to unload the property. If you have the time to wait for the process, you can potentially get a good deal.

When you do itemized deductions, you list all the interest you pay on the Schedule A form, and all of your deductions are subtracted from your income. It’s not a 1-for-1 tax reduction, so if you pay $10K in interest, that doesn’t translate to $10K lower tax bill.

And here’s the IRS info about the first time buyer’s credit.