Some prayers, please, for some ex-shipmates 'detained' in China

There are twenty-four of them, and their names can be found a the end of this article.

I was a cryptologic technician while I was in the Navy and was to a P-3 squadron while stationed in Maine. My best friend ever is, in another week, going to Souda Bay, Crete, Greece, to fly over that area, and it scares the crap out of me.

And.

I recognize one of the names on the list. Not a good friend, not someone I knew well, but one of those people you knew a few years ago who pops up on your mental radar every now and again. And I’m well aware that if Mike’s orders had been to WestPac rather than the Med he could very well have been on that plane.

Send some hugs (or prayers, if that’s your bent) to these people and their families. They need them.

They definitely have mine. Them and their families to remain calm and keep their courage and hopes up that they’ll be returned soon.

Here’s hoping for the best possible outcome.

Thanks for posting this chique.

But I’ll save the hugs. China is more than likely NOT dumb enough to mistreat the hostages, although they ARE dumb (or smart) enough to drag things out until they see what there is to see.

As a Secret Squirrel, you must have knowledge of the destruct policies (especially since Topsham had EP-3E’s, I did time at the Topsham Annex, myself) for that type plane. I would CERTYAINLY hope they started the boom-boom stuff soon after the nearest airfield was IDed. I hope those commies get a smoking pile of burning metal to analyze.

But your bud, he may be eating more rice than usual, but if those guys are harmed, I’m re-upping to smoke some Fantans.

Major UncleBill, USMCR
Stinger Missile Warrior

<thinkgoodthoughts>

Our men and women, servicemen throughout the world, are facing the same threat every day. My thoughts go out the those “detained” today and those put in harms way tomorrow.