Something rotten in the state of Illinois (stinky coworker)

I work in tech support in Chicago. I have three co-workers; let’s call them Moe, Larry and Curly. They each have a special funk that is special in its own right.

Moe is from Poland and doesn’t believe in deodorant (he has said that he thinks deodorant is a waste of money). He is generally clean but he likes to ride his bike to work, unless it is raining or snowing. As a result he always has an underlying stink. Summer days are worse, of course. It doesn’t help that he likes to wear a sport coat all the time which just acts to amplify it.

Larry is from India. While his clothes and body appear clean, he smells of the spices in his food. It’s not overpowering but, if you have to sit next to him, the smell gets stronger and more oppressive. I’ve worked with many people from India ( I am in tech support , after all) and usually, if I smell anything, it is an exotic sweet/spicy scent. Larry’s is more a burnt hair and sour milk smell.

Then there is Curly. He’s 48 and from Kansas. His smell is epic in nature. When he walks past you have to summon all of your will power to resist the urge to gag. There is a combination of BO, feces, vomit and sewage surrounding him. No, I’m not exaggerating. He seriously smells like he crawled through a sewer pipe and then was barfed on by a vulture. I am unfortunate enough to sit next to him and had to buy an Air Wick air freshener to mask some of his stench. Every morning before he comes in I spray his chair with Febreze to no avail. Some of my coworkers spray cologne.

One time I was stuck on an elevator with him when a woman got on from a different floor. As soon as the doors closed she pressed the button for the next floor so she could escape.