Speaking of gardening, my sweet peas won't flower

This is my first year trying sweet peas, though I’ve grown snap peas many times with great success (like fantasizing about sneaking snap peas onto neighbor’s doorstops to get rid of them successful :D).

But I can’t get my sweet peas to flower. Does anyone have any suggestions? I googled this to a fare thee well and got a lot of contradictory information. Fertilize…no DON’T fertilize, water, don’t water…lots of sun, little sun… etc.

At any rate, what I have are gorgeous healthy vines climbing like crazy (they’re about 3 feet tall now), but not a single bloom yet. I live in the Seattle area, so it’s a cooler climate like a lot of the googled references suggested (one of the few consistent suggestions). Since I live in an apartment, it’s a balcony garden. I have a nice-sized balcony, about 12 feet long and 5 feet wide, and the sweet peas and snap peas are in pots along the balcony rail and I fastened a trellis to the rail for them to attach to and climb.

All of the plants, trees, and flowers on the balcony are doing really well and the snap peas, which I’ve staggered in planters next to the sweet peas, are already flowering and will probably start producing pods shortly, so what gives?

If I cut them back will it stress them enough to start producing flowers? Is it too early in my neck of the woods? (our weather has been about 7 degrees cooler than is normal for this area at this time of year).

So I’ve come to the Dopers for help. I know someone here will have good advice.

I don’t have any advice but I’d like to commiserate–I have never gotten them to flower for me either. Vines sure, flowers no.

Carry on.

That makes me feel a bit better. :slight_smile:

Try to really goose up the potassium and phosphorus without increasing the nitrate. A Homeowner’s Guide to Fertilizer says “Phosphorus is provided as 0-46-0 and potash as 0-0-60 or 0-0-50.” Good luck finding either anymore.