Speed of Quantum Tunneling

I am no expert in quantum physics, so I might very well say some of this wrong.

Here’s the situation: Some photons or electrons (think tunnel diode) will not cross an impenetrable barrier, but will disappear on one side and reappear on the other. They do not cross the space between.

I realize that’s a simplification, but folks, I can NOT do, or understand the math behind this. So, I ask the Dopers out there, is there any data out there on how fast the wave packets/whatever take to tunnel “under” the barrier? Their original speed? Something greater than the speed of light*? Something in between?

Thanx!

*I do realize that if something disappears in one spot and reappears in another instantaneously without actually crossing the intervening space, you can’t actually say it has a “speed.” I am only talking about…about…uh, equivalents, I guess. Is the time taken greater or less than a photon traveling at c would take to actually traverse the distance?