Speedheating a Pool

Weather here in NorCal is somewhat inclement, despite it being the end of May (damn you El Nino!), and the pool at my grandparents, solely heated by a solar pool cover, is obviously not up to swimming for this Memorial Day weekend (unless it heats it up by 2F a day for the next ten days - highs are forcast in the low 80s).

Since there’s no pool heater, I was wondering if there are any ways to speed up the heating process. I suppose it would be asking to much for a tablet that you drop in and bing there it is. But, being an engineer, my motto is “There’s always a way”…

As a side note, my grandparents do have a hot tub (heated by solar panels), but I don’t know what the tempurature of that is or if any water will be in it come Memorial Day.

Greek fire? Hot stones from a bonfire? Plenty of ways but I shouldn’t have to tell an engineer there is no free lunch.

If I was given this task I’d setup a big steel washtub full of water over some big propane burners. Coil some copper tubing and hose with one of those inline pumps powered by a drill motor and use it to pull cold water out of the bottom of the pool, heat in the tub and dump back in. Kind of a junkyard wars solution but it was the first thing that popped into my mind.

I have used a solar cover in the past on my pool successfully. It’s a big sheet of blue bubble wrap and will heat the pool up pretty quickly if it’s sunny. It also insulates and keeps the pool from cooling down overnight. Cost about $75 at a pool supply store, depending on the size of your pool.

Did you even read the OP?

The solar panels are all you have. Are the pool and hot tub hydraulicaly connected? If not, adding solar panels to the pool would be a good idea. Otherwise, heat water in the hot tub and trasnfer the water to the pool.

How many gallons in the pool?

Some physics guy can figure how many of these would be needed to do the job in the time allotted.