Spitting on Soldiers after Vietnam

When people talk about soldiers being spit on after Vietnam, are talking figuratively or literally? Were there people waiting at the airport to actually spit on people?

There may have been a few isolated incidents, but it wasn’t widespread. And there were many more incidents of people spitting on Vietnam protesters.

Most Vietnam soldiers came home on military flights, which landed at military air bases.

So if anyone was spitting on them when they got off the planes, it would have been fellow soldiers. Now how likely is that?

As a Viet Nam vet, I have always wondered about the logic of that bit of lore too.

TV

I was around in that era, in Berkeley and the Bay Area, and I never heard of any spitting on soldiers. I did hear of giving flowers to soldiers in uniform, with intent to mess with their minds.

No one I knew (though some people may have) blamed the individual soldiers.

What I did hear of is talking guys into heading to Canada when their draft notice came.
I didn’t hear of spitting on protestors, but I would be a lot less suprised to hear of that than of the other way around. Protestors were resented by many.

I doubt the sincerety of whoever originated this tale. It comes under the heading of ‘instigating’ IMO.

I don’t hear any liberals blaming the current soldiers (again it may be done be some), but the Administration definitely and repeatedly blames the grunts for the abuses at Abu Ghraib, Afghanistan, and Guantanamo.

Not to hijack my own thread, but have you seen this:

When my brother came home from Vietnam, he transferred from a military airbase to our local (civilian) airport in Nashville. No spitters, though.

Here’s one guy’s story of being spit at (literally, not figuratively; but while in uniform on campus, not at an airport).