Spontaneous fires in Sicily town - Any ideas on causes?

This article talks about a bunch inexplicable fires in a small town in Sicily. Doesn’t look like a hoax. Would love to hear the SDMBs theories. I’m stumped.

Pullin

Since the fires only happen when people are around, that tells me arson.

My Dad was from that area, and IIRC he described it as pretty active volcanically (Mt. Aetna). That was my first thought before reading the article, but after reading I’m leaning more towards arson.

But the article says that the police ruled that out when they witnessed a fire start.

A freind of mine once admitted to setting 37 fires in 2 days when he was 12.

Another article about it.

On the other hand I think they should send me some virgins as a sacrifice. :smiley:

It’s the Mafia, I tell you. The Mafia! :smiley:

I think it’s just a wiring anomaly. The simplest explanation is usually correct. Also, I’ve had some experience with how the electric utilities are run in Sicilian towns. It’s not quite as modern and efficient as it is in northern Italy.

(I lived in the town of Motta Sant’Anastasia, near Catania, Sicily, from 1994 to 1996.)

That’s a waste of some good virgins.

Ladies! Hide the viberators!

But don’t hide them there!