Stay away from me Office Politics Monster, STAY AWAY!!!

I’m a graphic designer for a testing company, and have been here for over 4 years. I am low on the totem pole, and I prefer it that way. I in no way want to get mixed up with office politics. But somehow I have, mainly I’m actually willing to fix the problem myself when nobody else will do it.

Case in point: shortly after I started working here, I get requests from various project managers to put the company logo on a particular project. Nobody has an electronic version of it. They just have the company letterhead. This has obviously been printed from the same plate for the past few decades, and looks a little rough around the edges, so I decide not to scan it. I instead whip out Illustrator, draw up my own version of the logo, and voila.

Some time later, the Operations Manager for the company gets in touch with me. He hears I have an electronic version of the logo. He needs an EPS to send to a design company to put our logo on the sides of our delivery trucks. I say sure, no problem. He’s amazed that it didn’t involve anything complicated. So, he gets me to design versions of the logo for business cards, letterhead, the whole nine yards. He gets me to make several different versions of the logo on top of that in case somebody wants a solid black version, or a white fill, a gradient fill, and so on. No problem.

I put all this together in a folder on the company network common drive and inform everybody if they need a company logo, there it is.