Steam trains

I’ve noticed that on a lot old stream trains there is bell looking device on top of the smokestack.

Does it serve a purpose, or is it decorative?

Spark arresting chimneys

Cool, thanks.

You sound like a man that knows his stuff so I need some insight please sir.
I am an author that is currently working on my second book. It is taking place in 1937 West Virginia mountains. The passenger train tops the mountain. Upon slowing entering into a steep 10 mile downgrade the engineer realizes the brakes are failing.

What is left to do save the more than 100 passengers aboard?

Is throwing the locomotive in reverse while in a forward motion a viable option?

As indicated in response to your other posting, you should have started your own new question, rather than spamming off-topic responses to existing threads.

Moderating:

Please don’t junior mod.

Not a warning.

To @Rob76, this is an older thread. The person from whom you sought a response may not answer for that reason. I encourage you to start a new thread with your query. I think it’s a good topic to stay in our Factual Questions forum.

I’m assuming since it has been shifted to FQ, an answer here is appropriate.

Basically, the brakes on a train don’t fail in this manner. They don’t work like a car. The default position for the brakes is on. If the braking system was to fail on the locomotive, the brakes on all the carriages would apply themselves and bring the train to a halt. There are complicating factors, such as the presence of accumulators on carriages that cause the brakes to apply harder than just managed by the springs in the brakes proper. But the bottom line is that the braking system in a train uses the locomotive to take the brakes off, and with no external influence, the brakes on each carriage use springs to apply the brakes. The system has been designed to avoid exactly the OP’s scenario.