Straight Dope Harmonica Players Check in Here!

Rather than hijack Euty’s banjo thread any further, I decided just to start a brand new one, dedicated to all Dopers who play that delightful hand-held instrument, the mouth harp.

I don’t claim to be a very good or talented player of the harp; I’m a beginner at best. But, I enjoy playing the few diddies that I know.
This thread is for harp players from all corners of the boards to check in, talk about the art, share tips or favorite songs, debate over who’s the best harp player ever, and maybe give advice to young 'uns like me.

Personally, I’d like to learn how to bend notes. It seems to be pretty much a core requirement for playing blues harp, and I’d be happy to accept any tips that people feel like sharing. Also, feel free to post any good web sources or recommend books on playing for the benefit of other players here.

So kick back, listen to some Magic Dick, and help me realize that I’m not alone in this venture.

Hey, handsome. :slight_smile:
Sorry to disappoint you, but all I can claim is to actually own a harmonica. Can’t play it worth a…toot. Hey, I’m still working on guitar.
But my brother plays a little. I wish I’d have learned when I was a kid.
And I realize this isn’t what you were hoping for by way of responses, but isn’t something better than nothing?
xo

As I noted in my hijack over in Eutys thread, I wanna get one and learn. After looking at the website you so kindly posted over there, I’m now wondering if I should just get a cheapy to start and then worry about the specific tuned ones or what? What do I know about E-flat versus B-sharp harps?

Player here. I started playing 'cause Dylan did. I even did the harmonica around the neck holder thing.

I taught myself (doesn’t everyone) but because I’m not studious, I never learned how to tongue it, so I don’t. I use a narrow mouth and cover one or two holes at a time.