Strange behavior of my home inverter

I have a 1500W/970W home inverter. If I switch off the main incoming breaker to the house, the inverter kicks in immediately and there are no issues.
However, when there is a power outage with the mains incoming supply, the inverter fails to switch on.
What could be the reason? Isn’t manually tripping the incoming breaker the same as the mains supply going off, at least from the perspective of the inverter? How do I explain this behavior to the visiting service technician?

I’m pinging my electrician husband to see if he has any suggestions. @Bob_Blaylock?

I’m not an electrician, but:

If your inverter automatically comes on in a power outage without shutting off the breaker – isn’t there a risk of its putting power into the lines outside the house, thereby risking the lives of power company employees trying to fix the problem, who can only turn off the power from their end of the lines?

Don’t they therefore have to be set up so as to either somehow trip that breaker themselves, or else to only go on if someone has manually shut it off?

A lot more detail about this “inverter” is needed.

An inverter is a device which converts DC (as from a battery) to AC, and steps it up or down to the desired voltage.

Assuming that the device you’re talking about is truly an inverter, then you must have some source of DC power to go into it.  A bank of batteries, perhaps?

And from your description of the problem, I take it that it is supposed to be set up to power your home in the event of a power outage from the utility?  1500 watts is not very much for such a purpose.  That would be enough to power a good microwave oven, but not much else at the same time.