Strokes from smoking

They’ve been playing all these “I had a stroke/heart attack/amputation needed” etc and say it’s from smoking. How do they know that it’s the smoking that caused it and not some other cause? Or is the smoking blamed just because they are or were a smoker?

My mother in law had a severe stroke when she was 40. The blame has (and even was at the time, almost 30 years ago) at the door of her chain smoking. I’m no doctor but have been told there was clear evidence of clogged arteries to the brain caused by tar.

She’s still alive, but at the relatively young age of 70 is entirely bedridden, incontinent, deaf, living in a care home and still chain smoking.

I don’t know who “they” are, and certainly can’t say in a specific case if smoking caused the maladies in question but if you want cites linking smoking with strokes and heart/circulatory disease, here’s one:

and another:

Both are pretty reliable sources. There are a ton more.

I’m surprised that anyone is surprised about the damage to a person’s health that smoking can cause. It’s not a very well kept secret.

My stepson, who is 28 years old, has started to take up smoking because where we now live smoking is much more prevalent then where we used to live. He knows the dangers involved… he just doesn’t care. Ah, to be 28 again and to be stupid/invincible.

I didn’t say that I didn’t know that there is increased risk, but was asking how you can tell that any particular stroke/heart attack etc is directly from smoking.

ok, that makes sense. If the tar buildup in the arteries can be seen, then that would seem to be clear evidence. Thanks. :slight_smile:

Heh. Realized I missed a word in the OP…they’ve been playing all these commercials (or PSA’s I suppose) and are produced by the CDC.

You can’t.

You also are not going to see tar buildup in someone’s cerebral arteries.