Students with ADD getting double time and private rooms on exams

I was going to post this in Great Debates, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized there is not much of a debate. If I’m wrong let me know.

I tutor a student who attends a prominent private school who informed me that 16 of the 18 students in his higher level math course are allowed twice as long on tests due to ADD. He also told me they get twice as long on the SAT, an extremely time-sensitive examination. I’ve seen this at another private school as well, so I know that it is not that uncommon. In many cases the students get their own private room to take the exam on top of the double time. How is the student I tutor supposed to compete for college acceptance with those who get double the time on the SAT?

As a college professor, I also have students who are allowed double time on tests. Now some of them have debilitating disorders and I am all for them taking as much extra time as needed on exams, but occasionally I get a student who is “distracted by noises” and thus is allowed to take the exam in a private room, with double time provided. I feel this is an abuse of the system.

Am I wrong to disagree with these practices? Is this what the current younger generation requires to make it? I feel that once these kids get into the real world, they’re not going to be able to tell their boss “I have ADD, so I’m going to need double the time to turn in this report” or “can you please quiet that screaming baby, I’m trying to perform CPR on this patient and get distracted by sounds”. Unfortunately, it is also not my place as a young instructor to challenge this system (with a family to feed), but hopefully I can somewhat anonymously disagree with it here (especially double time on the SAT section).

They get extra time on the AP exams as well.