Subscribe to pay-message board. Owe sales tax?

Suppose I were to subscribe to a pay-only message board on the internet. Do I owe sales tax to the state of Illinois (where I happen to live)? Is the pay-only message board a good or a service?

Illinois has umpteen different sales tax rates. Which rate would be the correct one?

I’d say that it’s a service, but I am not a lawyer, not a CPA, and not a tax collector.
It seems to fail the “good” test I use… if The Chicago Reader sold you a “good”, precisely what is it that you take home from the transaction?
It seems that you’re really paying for the following:

1. Rent on a web and database server.
  2. Labor associated with maintaining the above-mentioned items.

The Uniform Commercial Code, which governs sales in every U.S. state except Louisiana, defines “goods” as “all things (including specially manufactured goods) which are movable at the time of identification to the contract for sale other than the money in which the price is to be paid, investment securities … and things in action. ‘Goods’ also includes the unborn young of animals and growing crops and other identified things attached to realty as described in the section on goods to be severed from realty.”

I don’t see how any of that applies here; no movable object has changed hands, and those other things are far removed from the situation. Looks to me like the Chicago Reader has sold you a service, specifically, the use of its message boards.

Whoops, I see you’re a Guest here. I meant that what the Chicago Reader wants to sell you is a service.

So if I did get a service on the internet, do I owe sales tax?

The state of Illinois is making noise (and other states are too, I believe) about citizens having to sign something about how much they purchase on the internet yearly, and then having to pay sales tax.

Would a message board subscription count?