Sun Dancers

Any other Sun Dancers out there? I’ve been dancing for 2 years and have 2 years left on my committment. Just wondering what your experiences have been and will gladly share mine. So, if any of you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Just one question. What’s a Sun Dancer?

Okay. Two questions. Why a four year committment?

Sun Dance

My questions: Do you pierce? And with whom/ where do you dance (meaning, what tribe)?

Sun Dancing is an ancient Lakota ceremony in which we dance so that other’s may live. It is a 4 day event that involves fasting, abstaining from water, and dancing from sun up to sundown.

When one pledges to dance, he/she commits to dancing in the ceremony for 4 years in his/her lifetime.

I did pierce in this year’s dance.
I dance with a Nanticoke, a Lakota, a Cherokee, a few white folks (including me), and another from a tribe whose name I don’t remember. Our intercessor brought the dance from the midwest where he learned from the Lakotas. In Delaware the only tribes are the Nanticoke and the Lenapis. Our intercessor split from the Nanticoke tribe because of differences of opinion about how strict the tribe should stick to tradition. He was in favor of being more traditional. He was the chief of the tribe and the chiefs of the Nanticoke tribe came from his family going back 5 generations. So, I don’t really dance with any tribe but it is based on Lakota tradition.

For others’ information: The sun dance is not a specifically Lakota ceremony but was/is practiced by many Plains Tribes, including the Blackfeet, Cheyenne, Crow, and Ojibway. (And the Nakota and Dakota, as well as the Lakota.) It is not necessarily about redeeming life through sacrifice (“dance so that others may live”) although it certainly can be.