Super Smash Bros. Melee

I’ve been playing SSBM competitively for a couple of years now. I’ve been to approximately 90 tournaments. The competitive scene is growing, which is really exciting for a game that’s fifteen years old. This past May I went to a major tournament that attracted the five best players in the world, the first time ever that all five of them had been to a tournament in Canada. First place handed out a little over $17,000.

I was wondering if there were any other members here who play and/or follow the competitive scene. I find the way that electronic sports are growing quite fascinating. It’s an interesting time in history for that sort of thing. Players are getting more support, and e-sports are being held in higher regards. There is still a large generation gap with parents who say that video games are a waste of time and an addiction. A lot of people don’t see professional gaming as a respectable career choice.

From my point of view, it seems a bit odd to think of a competitive scene for Smash Bros. I’ve loved the game on every occasion I’ve played it (I haven’t had a Nintendo since the original NES, so that’s not often), but to me, the appeal is that you can have a lot of fun with it even if you have no clue what you’re doing and just randomly mash buttons. I guess it says something about the game that it works over such a wide range of skill levels.

The long lifespan of the competitive scene is also promising. I think the biggest obstacle to esports is that the games keep shifting. With ordinary sports, a kid can hope to become a star football or basketball player or whatever in a couple of decades, and then to have a career spanning a few decades, but with esports, nobody even knows what anyone’s going to be playing that far in the future.