Talk to me about Snooker

All last month and all of this month so far, the local TV here has been showing Snooker championships. I’ve played before but I just remember some of the basic stuff. Help me out, if you will, and tell me what you can about the game. To start off, here are a few questions:

What is the player required to do?
What is the player prohibited from doing?
What should the player do?
What should the player not do?

Thanks for whatever information you can provide!

I’ll just say I’m not an expert on Snooker, but I know enough to understand what’s going on. I’m going by memory, so I might get some details a bit wrong, but hopefully enough to give you a good idea of what is happening.

If you’ve played, you should know the basic object is to get points by potting balls, that is, by hitting the cue ball (the white ball), with the cue, into one of the holes (pockets) around, the table.

There are 2 stages in snooker. At the start there are 15 red balls on the table, and 6 other coloured balls, which are usually just calls the reds and the colours. When one player gets their turn to play, their object is to pot a red ball. At the very start, all the reds are tightly packed, so the first player usually just breaks the reds apart, and play passes to the second player.

In this stages, whenever a player starts their turn (or break), the object is to pot a red ball, for 1 point… If they don’t play passes to the other player, if they do then attempt to pot a coloured ball, and each colour is worth a different amount, from 2 points for the yellow ball and 7 points for the black. If they succeed, then they attempt to pot another red ball, and so on. If they fail at any point, play passes to the other play, to attempt to pot a red.