Tax Implications for UK "house lotteries"?

I’ve recently seen several adverts for “house lotteries” in the UK (such as this one).

Sounds great in principle but can anyone tell me what the tax implications are?

Can you walk away with the property for £25, or will the Exchequor send you a bill for ££s once you move in?

(NB. Looking for UK responses initially, although interested to know how it’s handled in other nations.)

I am not a lawyer.

My understanding is that you pay tax on lottery winnings, which presumably includes the house at current market value.

I am not a lawyer, tax advisor or anything of the sort :dubious: but my understanding is that tax would not be due on something like this. The example linked to is not a lottery but a competition or game of skill as there is a question you have to answer (lotteries, except for those for charity or where the tickets are only sold to a private groups, are not actually legal) and in the UK “amateur” contestants are not liable for tax on prizes.

There was a previous threat on tax on prizes including a number of cites on this but my Google foo is weak today and I can’t find them again!

Should have said:

Tax is not payable on lottery winnings in the UK. If you win GBP 92 million on the Euro millions lottery this Friday - as a UK tax payer you keep it all :smiley:

From the FAQs:

:rolleyes:

I agree that the National Lottery is tax-free (the Government takes 12% of the prizefund instead).
However the Charitable Lottery Tax Relief: Gambling Act 2005 says:

Certain lotteries are exempt from tax when the profits accrue to a charity.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/budget2007/bn44.htm

Therefore some lotteries are taxed in the UK.

Yes, but all other lotteries are basically illegal, as MarcusF said, unless they are little things like church tombolas or something organised for your company’s Christmas party. Or the National Lottery, which is a special case.