Teach me about Medicare supplement policies

The wife is headed toward the big 65.
What do I need to know about Medicare supplement policies?
Recommendations?
Suggestions?

I am a licensed insurance agent. Pm me and I will be happy to talk in detail (not to sell you anything, I’m not licensed in your state).

The big thing to know is that you have two broad choices with several sub choices. The biggest broad choice is medigap vs Medicare advantage. Medigap is standardized and every policy offered by every company must have identical benefits by law. It is typically a bit more expensive than an advantage plan in terms of monthly premium but a good plan (I like plans F and G best) offers what is quite possibly the best medical coverage available to anyone in the US. Shop around and go with the company with the best rates then continue to shop to make sure your rates stay good.

Medicare advantage offers lower premiums but less security and usually significantly lower quality coverage. These plans are not standardized so every company’s plans will be different and they can change them on you every year. Typically the monthly premium goes up considerably after the first few years. Many but not all of them are essentially hmos. They also frequently come bundled with a prescription drug plan which can be a benefit, but takes away your ability to shop your rx plan annually as your drug needs and the laws change.

The other important thing to know is that for 6 months after you enroll in a supplement you can change your plan as often as you want with no medical questions being asked. After that you can (and likely will) be medically underwritten by the insurance company effectively cutting you off from some coverage if you have any real health problems.

Let me know if any of that doesn’t make sense or if you have other questions.

Two more considerations…