Tell Me About Behavioral Economics

I find myself increasingly interested in this field, if only at the layman’s level, and would like to read and learn more about it. Over the past several months, I’ve read Malcolm Gladwell’s books, plus Predictably Irrational, and Freakonomics. Just yesterday, I read SuperFreakonomics from cover to cover after receiving it for Christmas.

Granted, these books are certainly no rigorous economic texts, and they’re certainly very reliant on the narrative form. Nevertheless, they seem to be very basic introduction to this field. Can anyone recommend some more reading that might be at a little higher level, but not as dry as a freshman economics textbook? I’m an engineer in training, so math doesn’t scare me (much), but I think anything overly mathematical would be over my head anyway due to my limited knowledge of economics.

I haven’t seen any really good pop science treatments yet. The bible of the field is Kahneman & Tversky, but that may require more of an economics background than you’re comfortable with.

I haven’t read it myself by Animal Spirits written by a couple of eminent economists ought to be the perfect introduction to the field. I have heard great things about it and it should be very accessible.
Nudgeis another good book on the topic oriented towards practical applications.

My daughter studied this in U of Chicago with Thaler, and now is working on it in grad school. It interested me so much that I figured out how to apply it to engineering, and we’ve published two papers together on it and gave a tutorial.

Thaler has had a few other books about it. Try The Winner’s Curse also. You might also want to search for important concepts, like The Endowment Effect, Anchoring, and Defaults.

The first chapter of Nudge sums up the argument very well, which is that classical economics assumes that people have skills and make decisions based on pure logic, which is provably not the case.