Tell Me About Creating a Podcast

I’ve googled some stuff, but I’m interested in hearing from others, if that’s okay.

I’m on a couple local sci fi committees here in Charlotte, NC and have been toying with the idea of making some podcasts of some of the guests and what all are coming to our summer convention.

But the fact is, I’ve never done a podcast before. I’ve done some internet dj-ing several years back, and I’m not a complete techno-noob.

But I was wondering if there were any other Dopers out there who could shed some light on the process and what they have found to be important info I might not find googling.

I released a serialized podcast of a novel I wrote. The podcast was released on Podiobooks.com. There were 31 episodes, and it was one of the most amazingly frustrating yet satisfying endeavors I have ever completed.

I experimented with several different microphone/computer setups but was really unsatisfied with the quality of the sound. I tried recording directly to a fairly quiet laptop, but just couldn’t get away from the noise of the fan.

I decided to go with a digital recorder. Specifically, I went with the Zoom H2. I absolutely love this recorder. It was worth every penny of the $200 I spent on it.

I recorded my podcasts in a spare bedroom, which just happens to have acoustic ceiling tile mounted on two of the four walls. (I had mounted the tiles to the walls so my daughter could have a decent bulletin board.) The tiles did a good job of absorbing the sound. Unfortunately, I was unable to completely soundproof the room, due to the windows.

I did most of my recording really early in the morning, because I wouldn’t have to deal with a lot of traffic noise. Unfortunately, I had to deal with a lot of train whistles, from tracks that are over a mile away.