Tell me about Downshifting (or Engine Braking)

I’m still new to manuals, and I have a couple questions about downshifting to slow the car. I know that it causes more wear and tear on the clutch, but that’s not what I’m concerned about.

Specifically, what’s the proper way of downshifting? Say your car is going 45 in 4th gear, but you you need to slow down to 30. From what i’d heard, you’d put in the clutch, shift to 3rd, then slowly release the clutch until 3rd gear is engaged. But from what I’ve read recently, it seems my understanding may be incorrect (because you’d want the clutch to be released as quickly as possible.

So how should one actually go about downshifting? Please explain to this mechanically uninclined idiot.

I’m sure the replies will be all over the board on this one. If I needed to slow down to 30mph in the situation you described, I generally wouldn’t downshift at all. I would leave the car in 4th, take my foot off the accelerator and use the brakes or just coast down to speed. I would not downshift until I needed to accelerate again. Most, if not all, autos are capable of cruising at 30mph in 4th over level ground. Obviously if you’re going uphill, carrying a heavy load, lugging the engine, etc. you’ll want to be in 3rd.

If I know I’m approaching a stop, I will usually just put the car in neutral and coast up. Doing so saves gasoline and wear and tear on the clutch.

In normal driving, you should not use engine braking to slow the car. You should also generally try to avoid shifting into a lower gear until the vehicle speed matches the engine RPMs in the new gear i.e., the engine will be turning 1000RPM at 25 mph in 3rd, as you make the shift, your foot is off the gas pedal and the RPMs fall so that when you engage third gear your engine speed and vehicle speed are roughly in sync. There is no need to let out the clutch slowly when downshifting, and downshifts should be as smooth as upshifts. If your car jerks, you are doing it incorrectly.