tell me about learning Japanese

is it hard?

Well, yes. It is considered very difficult for English speakers.

An NSA report concluded that Japanese is the only commonly taught language which differs from English in all features that they analyzed (phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, stylistics, and writing system). They conclude it is the most difficult language for a native English speaker to learn.

Then again, who cares how hard it is? If you want to, do it. I studied Russian in college (which is considered up there in difficulty) and it was a great experience. The students had that sense of togetherness that generally arises from sharing a common disaster. :slight_smile:

I’d think it would depend on how motivated you are. When I was stationed in Okinawa, I liked to go off base. I also liked to eat. I didn’t really need to learn to speak Japanese, most of the shopkeepers knew some english and pointing and waving money was enough for many of my friends. I wanted more. I was a guest in their land and thought it was my responsibility to learn their language.

By the end of my 13 month tour, I was able to have conversations with the locals. There were many funny moments, but the locals liked that I was trying and would help me out and laugh with me. I think that my experience was much richer because I crossed the language barrier.

Total immersion is the way to go when learning a new language, IMHO. Currently, I live in Arizona. I don’t speak spanish. I could learn, I’m exposed to enough of it, but I’m not motivated.

I’d say that Russian and all those other languages with gender inflections are more difficult than Japanese. But what do I know? I was just the barest beginner at Japanese lessons, and only took 8 weeks of lessons. Mind you, those lessons were at a school that teaches by total immersion, and at the end of them, we were taking notes in Japanese and had a good idea of basic sentence structure.