Tell me about living in a northern state

A former boss of mine who is still in the company just emailed me with an interesting suggestion. He is now located in upstate New York, and there’s an upcoming job opportunity in his group which he thinks I’d be suited for, so he wants me to put my name in the pipeline for it. The job would be in upstate New York and would involve a great deal of driving.

I live in Memphis, with which I am growing increasingly discontented. Because of that and because this would be a good career move even if it were here, I’m tempted by the opportunity. One thing that gives me pause, though, is the notion of living that far north. Apart from Memphis, the only place I have ever lived is the Philippines, so I have little experience with snow (Memphis gets about 2/3 of an inch of the white stuff every other year) and no experience with bitter winters. Can anybody give me a heads-up on living in such a place?

I am only in Iowa, so do not get the intense snow that you would experience in upstate NY. But you get used to it. In the winter, you learn what conditions you personally can deal with in terms of driving, and you avoid those you cannot. I think that will be your biggest challenge, because from talking with folks in Buffalo, they get a lot of snow, and I suppose Buffalo isn’t really “upstate” but they get the “lake effect” snow. I would imagine all of upstate NY gets that.

I have found the regardless of how long you have lived in an area with a decently snowy winter, damn near everyone goes through the first couple of snow storms as if they spent their lives in Hawaii and didn’t know what this fluffy white stuff was. They completely forget how to drive in this weather. Hell it rained today and I saw an idiot in the ditch, lord only knows what will happen when that chowderhead hits a snowy patch!