Tell me about owning a rental house.

With real estate prices and mortgage rates at such low levels, I’m thinking about buying a house in a vacation area, with the intention of renting it out to people on holiday. The idea would be that (mortgage payment+utilities+cleaning staff+repairs) is approximately equal to 2 weeks occupancy per month. Over a sufficiently long time, the property should more or less pay for itself, and if the real estate market improves, it could be sold at a profit.

I know that other people do this, but I also know I have no experience running a business, much less a business in another state. Am I crazy? Is this a bad idea? Please tell me about your experiences with owning a property like this. For that matter, tell me if you have ever rented one, and what you thought of it. Thanks.

My husband’s parents did this for a while, and eventually came to the conclusion that it is simply not worth the trouble. When there is a maintenance problem you have to fix it NOW, tenants are late on rent, they skip out on the rent, they trash the place, etc etc etc. Being a landlord involves lots of distasteful labor, lots of being nasty and receiving nastiness, and lots of trips to small claims court.

If you had several houses and it was your full-time vocation, and you didn’t mind breaking balls, you’d be fine. If you have another job to keep at the same time, everything I’ve ever heard says DON’T.