Tell me about Rheumatoid Arthritis

I’ve not yet been officially diagnosed because I can’t afford the tests, but I have a lot of the symptoms. (I’m 25, female)

I’m not looking for advice, but your personal experiences with RA, treatments and your reactions… etc.

Not much to offer, but my 72-year-old mother was diagnosed with it back in the mid-70s. She had one or two knuckles replaced about 6 years ago, but she manages. Despite the fact that her hands are gnarled and twisted, she doesn’t let it stop her. She’s been one tough gal.

I am not a doctor/rheumatologist/etc.

My sister has another form of arthritis, known as ankylosing spondylitis. Since you say that there is no official diagnosis of RA, perhaps you should have your doctor consider AS as well, simply because it is more likely to develop in younger people than RA (although many children and adults can get RA as well).

What joints are causing you problems? The thing to consider (though I know you said you can’ t afford the tests) is that the two diseases have different treatment plans - as I understand them, at least. In joints affected with RA, it seems that more motion/use of them tends to degrade them more, while with AS, you are better off using your joints to prevent them from fusing (the ankylosing part of it). Also, medical treatment is different, at least to some extent. If you can manage on OTC NSAIDs to relieve your pain, then that’ s good, but it they aren’t doing the trick, you will need a prescription for other drugs.