Tell me about your rice cooker.

I’m considering buying one of these for my house, and I would like to know what you think of the one you have, or what you’ve heard from those that have them.
Thanks for your input.

I have been using my Zojirushi rice-cooker for about two years now. All I can say is that it is (when properly combined with a slow cooker) THE SINGLE GREATES PIECE OF KITCHEN WARE IN EXISTENCE!!! Just imagine, being able to have perfectly cooked rice with NO EFFORT! Just pop in rice and water, turn it on, and BAM, you’ve got perfect rice.

Mine’s a Tiger brand that I’ve had for about four years. The thing’s pretty close to perfect: easy to use (just like Drizzt’s), easy to clean, makes good-tasting rice.

Put rice in.
Put water in to the mark for the amount of rice you put in.
Plug it in.
Press the button.
Go do something else.

Hey presto! Perfect rice kept warm even after it’s cooked! :smiley:
In case you’re asking for advice, get one with a non-stick coating on the “pot”. And use a plastic rice scoop.
Other uses for a rice cooker:

Boil soup
Japanese/Chinese style “hot pot cooking at the table”
Porridge maker (add more water before cooking)
Steamer (Some of them have little tray doohickeys that sit on top of the rice, to steam fish or eggs)

I thought about getting a rice cooker, but instead have a double-decker vegetable steamer (Black and Decker). I can steam anything in it, as well as cooking rice in the bowl that comes with it. I’d go for the multi-purpose tool rather than the single-purpose.

She’s about 5’5" tall, 120 lbs, 32 years old, dark brown hair and dark eyes.
:stuck_out_tongue:

Same here, a small Tiger brand model. I can’t imagine living without one.