Tell me what to play...

Well, usually people come in here asking for song suggestions to listen to. I’ve even done it. This thread is a little different.

[quick back-story]
I’m a musician, but have been out of work for some time due to completely ridiculous work and school schedules and my wife and I having a baby. I play by myself, just me and a 6 or 12 string acoustic, and usually play a mix of about half covers and half originals (it changes show by show, but in general). Some of the covers I play are by Jack Johnson, Goo Goo Dolls, Matt Nathanson, and Howie Day. Other covers are Story of the Year and some older songs that are still rather popular (Brown Eyed Girl, for example).
[/quick back-story]

I have to play a show in about 2 months (plenty of time to learn) and since I’ve been show-less for a few months, I’m considering learning a bit of new covers. I’m here asking suggestions. Anything is possible, even some rap (of course, it can’t be Gin and Juice, as the acoustic bluegrassy version has been done :wink: )

Thank in advance…

Brendon Small

Free Bird!!!

I never did find out who covered “Elsewhere” by Sarah McLachlan. Maybe I just confused it with that “Possession” cover by Evans Blue, who knows. I think it would rock if you covered it, though. I swear, it sounded really good by a guy, even if I just imagined it :slight_smile: oh please, record it somehow if you do cover it! Youtube, MP3, whatever

Let’s see I love to see a cover band play songs that are familiar without being overdone. Here are some songs that I think lend themselves to fitting this defenition, plus they almost all work well as solo numbers.

Balad of the Thin Man (Bob Dylan)
I Hope that I Don’t Fall in Love With You (early Tom Waits)
In the Aeroplane Over the Sea (Neutral Milk Hotel)
Fake Plastic Trees (Radiohead)
(Nothing But) Flowers* (The Talking Heads)
Traveling Song (Bright Eyes)

and the exception (because it is covered a lot, but I always love it)
Ruby Tuesday (the Stones)