Tell me your telecommuting experiences ...

We’re having serious management changes at the office. The old manager was very micro-managing, but the new one is more “do what you want as long as the work gets done.” Almost all of our work is done via internet and email anyway, and the new manager doesn’t see the need in paying rent on so much office space, when we could all be doing it from home anyway.

So, it looks like by June I’ll be telecommuting full time. I’m wondering what others’ experiences are doing this. Are there any particular pitfalls I should watch out for? Unseen side benefits? Tell me all about it.

I’m a computer programmer who lives 60 miles from the office. I am not allowed to telecommute full-time, but I can work at home whenever my private life (doctor’s appointments, car trouble, etc) or bad weather make it seem like a good idea.

The first and only pitfall I ran into was my wife, who is a real estate agent and is at home a lot during the day. It took a while to convince her that I needed to be left alone.

Most days at home are more productive for me than days in the office. I don’t spend any time bullshitting about politics or sports, I don’t have to deal with drive-by technical questions, and I tend to work more than eight hours when I’m home. I am hopeful that I’ll telecommute full-time in the future. Congratulations on your good fortune.

I don’t personally telecommute, but I have a friend who did. Sounds like you’ll need to have a lot of self-discipline to make sure you actually get out of bed on time and don’t take too many breaks, but on the plus side you get to work in your jammies!

Mr. Athena and I both telecommute.

I love it. I can’t imagine going back to a job that requires me to go to the office. I think it’s a good situation for both employee and employer, if the job fits. Some jobs require more personal interaction between employees, and I’m guessing those don’t fit into the telecommute model as well as solitary jobs.