Tell This ACA Newbie About Obamacare

I’m putting this in GQ because I want factual answers and not political opinions of any stripe. If it should be moved, I won’t be offended.

But as many of you know, the wife and I plan to move back to the US in a few months after 22 years living in and around Bangkok. I’ve been exempt from the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act due to my overseas status. While I have carried health insurance over here, having left my office this week I am now without that, and the wife having retired from her government job I’m now off her policy too. (Spouses can be included under their other halves’ government plans only while the other half is actively employed by the government.) I am still covered by Thailand’s meager Social Security system and can fall back on that in case of emergency, and that will have to do until I get to the US.

So what do I need to know as a complete newbie? I already know I will be required to carry health insurance. I think there’s some sort of website I need to sign up on. Assuming I have to pay for my own policy once I get to the US and won’t have an employee plan, at least not for a while, what would I need to do after I step off the plane?

For starters: https://www.healthcare.gov/

I have no personal experience with it - I’m sure lots of others will chime in with that.

First, so long as your residence is overseas you continue to be exempt from the mandatory coverage requirements of the PPACA. You can claim that exemption on a month-by-month basis, and is sorted out on your tax form 8965.

Assuming you are under age 65 you probably will not be eligible for Medicare yet. You will then need to obtain qualifying coverage through an employer or self-purchased plan or else pay a tax penalty. Sounds like you will need to self pay, at least for a little while, assuming you want to avoid the penalty.