Terraria: Difference between different blocks?

I’m new to Terraria. One of the main points of the game, of course, is building various structures. The main material used for this is blocks, which you get by mining out various native resources. But is there any practical difference between blocks? If I can build a house entirely out of dirt blocks (of which I have an overflowing supply, from tunneling for other resources), is there any reason not to? Or should I make sure it’s wood, or stone, or some other even more exotic material?

As far as I know–and I’ve put a stupid number of hours into this game–most blocks don’t matter as far as what you build with them, except aesthetics. If you build with blocks from the corruption or the good world (whatever it’s called, I forget), those blocks are infectious and will spread their biome very slowly to the blocks nearby, so you might want to be careful with them. But otherwise, build what you think is pretty and/or what you have at hand.

I haven’t played the game in ages so things might have changed but, back when I played, the only practical difference was that Dungeon Blocks (from Skeletron’s dungeon) were immune to explosion effects. Every now and then you’d get the goblin event including the exploding dudes who’d put holes in your house. If you used dungeon blocks, they couldn’t blow through. I had an underground house with four layers of dungeon stone on top so the goblins could try to invade and just impotently explode up above my bunker.

But, even then, wood/earth/stone/gold/etc was all academic since they were all equally subject to getting blown up – only dungeon blocks were immune.

The above is mostly true. However, let me clarify something: If you want to build a dirt house, such as to simulate an abode abode, make sure you place the "rear"wall. A naturally-occurring background doesn’t count for housing.