Texas Hold 'Em Question

Three players left in the hand.

The turn card comes down and I bet $1K - Play Money.
Player on my left raises to $1,665, and goes All In.

Next player, Richard, just calls, and he has around $12K
left, even after the call.

Now, I’ve been raised, and even though the raiser is All In,
I should think I have the option to re-raise big time to get
more money out of Richard or go down in flames. After all,
I have a straight to the Queen.

But the pokerstars.net software gives me just two options
CALL $655 or FOLD

Can this be correct?

I have never played on pokerstars.net Although it sounds like, from your description, that it’s not set up to have a side pool when the short stack goes all in.

The All In Guy’s bet didn’t count as a raise. In order for it to be a legit raise, it needs to be at least as much as the last raise. So if the BB was 100, and you raised to 1,000, the next raise needs to be 1,900 to before you can re-reraise.

In case that wasn’t clear, from here:

If I understand you correctly…

Yes, they have side pools at pokerstars - and will create as many as necessary when various people go All In for different amounts.

I captured the screen, just when Richard has called the $1655 raise. The individual bets are in front of each player, and have not been sucked into the pot as yet. No side pools have been created as. The software is waiting for me to CALL or FOLD.

In any event, I think it’s a glitch, and that I should have been permitted to re-raise. Or is there some curious rule that applies to this case which restricts me to Call or Fold?

I beg your pardon. (Seriously) I should havementioned right from the go that this was $5-$10 No Limit.

No problem :slight_smile:

Here’s an article on the subject:

So my re-raise should have been allowed. The All In bet raised me by $655. Since richard stayed in I should have been entitled to whack it.

Anyway, I’m emailing the screen capture to opkerstars, asking what’s going on.

UNLESS YOU COME BACK AND TELL ME I’M DEAD WRONG.

No it shouldn’t have been allowed.

You bet out $1,000 right? There was no bet ahead of you?

If so, then the raise would have needed to be another $1,000 minimum before you could reraise. As it was only $655, you can’t reraise. This is the rule for No-Limit.

In Limit Poker, you could have, because $655 > 50% of $1,000.

Make sense?

Frankly, I just don’t know. I’ll send the screen capture to pokerstars tomight and will probably get a reponse tomorrow afternoon. I’ll let you know what they say.

Thanks very much for your patience.for your patience.

Eleusis has it right.

If Richard had reraised the all in bet, then you could put in another raise. That didn’t happen. He only called the all in, and since that didn’t meet the requirements for a raise,you could only call or fold, not reraise.

Yup. Everyone was right except me.

What you guys have been saying is the same thing the website told me. It’s happened to me a couple of times at PokerStars, but this was the only incident in which I had the presence of mind to capture the screen to document it.

So for your trouble, you might get a laugh out of this.

The other night I sat in on a game at PokerStars.net, in which one player’s monicker was Richard Gere, another, Chuk (sic) Norris, and a third was Big Queer who’s picture (avatar), incidentally, was a broadly smiling Dubya.

Captured that screen, too, and emailed it to my buddy down the street. No message, just typed in the Subject, and that was Celebrity Poker. Knocked him out.

Thanks for your inputs.

Question asked.
Question answered.
OP happy.
Thread closed.
:slight_smile: