The Australian Citizenship Test is irrelevant

I am a volunteer English home tutor to an Afghani family. There are 11 in the family and only the eldest daughter speaks any English with a moderate amount of comprehension. They are enthusiastic, funny and welcoming. I enjoy it immensely. Saying that they’re learining English as another language isn’t quite correct, as they speak Dari, Farsi, German and a smattering a French.

They all have a burning desire to become Australian citizens; and therein lies the rub - the citizenship test is a steaming pile of irrelevant shit. I have read it and re-read it, and come up with mini-tests and done wall charts and posters and recreated ancient history - but it’s so fucking hard!

At a dinner party last week, some idiot was espousing how “the citizenship test was fair and if they want to become Australians, fuck 'em, let 'em learn what being Australian is all about blah blah blah”. So I threw a $50 note on the table and threw down the challenge “If you can correctly answer ONE of the following 5 questions - that $50’s yours”. Needless to say, my money was safe and people are astounded at just how hard the fucking thing is! As someone commented to me - if every ‘Australian’ had to sit it, 90% of us would be deported.

For interests sake, the 5 questions I asked (taken from a random pool of 200 questions on the Australian Citizenship Test):
Name three artists of the Heidleberg School
Name the three official Australian flags
When did the UK join the European Union
What was the name of the explorer who landed on the Gulf of Carpentaria in 1606
What year did Phar Lap win the Melbourne Cup

:mad:

(Emphasis added.)

Afghani is the currency.

Afghan are the people.

Oh, and it was 1973 that the UK joined the EU. Learned the exact date today, actually. Only question I could answer. Though, to be technically correct, the UK didn’t join the “EU” in '73, it joined the EEC.