the Blues

I dunno if this belongs here or in GD. I taped the 7-episodes of the History of the Blues that was on ETV a couple of weeks ago, and just finished watching episode 5 (or was it 6?). This mini-series encompasses a very wide range of music, including some Dylan, Jimmy Hendrix, the Beatles, various English rock groups, jazz, etc.

Now to my mind those genre are not part of the Blues, which means to me a song of a particular rhythm (I’m not a musician or versed in music so I can’t describe it, but I know it when I hear it, just as I know rap when I hear it but cannot describe the type of rhythm) concerning a sad topic, such as working in the cotton fields, working on a chain gang, losing a lover, life in general if depressing to the artist, etc.

Granted that Dylan certainly began with Blues roots. His folk songs (which were the only good music he played IMO) contained some very blue topics, especially at that time the Korean war. But Subterranean Blues? Come on, now.

Subterranean Blues may be the way the person Dylan is describing is feeling inside, but the song sure doesn’t have a blues feel to it.

Blues was definitely a big part of early rock and roll though, I think you probably agree. Look at the early Stones albums, early Elvis, Cream, Led Zeplin, Hendrix, and on and on. They all had very heavy blues influences.

Hendrix is definitely blues influenced. In fact, he covered a lot of blues standards. Stevie Ray Vaughan and Eric Clapton are also heavily blues influenced, and much of their catalogs is outright blues.

After all, “Crossroads” was written by Robert Johnson. You can’t get any more blue than that.

BTW, the blues aren’t really defined by rhythms. Their more defined by the ‘blue’ notes in the scales they use, and by chord progressions and song structures. Perhaps you’re thinking of the classic 12-bar song form of the blues as a ‘rhythm’.