The cows were dumb.

Today is the final day for the cows.

For the benefit of those who didn’t visit Chicago this summer: http://www.ci.chi.il.us/Tourism/CowsOnParade/index.html

From http://www.straightdope.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/002052.html

I posted:

I’d like to hear any arguments supporting the artistic value of this display. Is anyone sad to see them go?

Yes. I thought they were cute and interesting and fun. Great art? likely not. Funny? Yes. Amusing? Yes. Attracting people to downtown areas? Yes.

During the summer, we must have made five or six driving tours to show off the cows to various visitors. Everyone had the same reaction – cute, droll, amusing, interesting, different. In a world where increasingly every street corner looks like every other street corner, where the same stores and shops and brand names are everywhere, the cows were unique – both as a phenomenon, and each cow as an inidividual work of art/craft.

So what’s not to like?

I liked the cows. I am an artist, and it is my considered opinion that some of them were very well done. Some were not so well done, but a many were painted by kids, so I am inclined to be lenient. Art doesn’t have to be solemn and serious and beautiful; it can be whimsical too.

It certainly succeeded in its stated purpose of getting tourists in; I admit I’m not always thrilled to be dodging tourists taking pictures of cows all the time. However, if it wasn’t cows they’d be taking pictures of something else, and the tourism helps local businesses. I don’t think Chicago’s image is so fragile that a few silly cows will ruin its dignity.

“Happiness is nonetheless true happiness because it must come to an end, nor do thought and love lose their value because they are not everlasting.”

• Bertrand Russell

Hey! Don’t you be dissing thecowgodmoo!

On a related note, here in Cincinnati, there is talk of duplicating the cow thing, except we’d use pigs.