The "miracle on the Hudson": Sullenberger/crew skill and interaction w/ Airbus 320

There are a bunch of good airplane/crew threads going on, so I thought I’d start another one. :wink:

I’ve heard (although I can no longer remember the arguments) that Sullenberger and his crew “only” helped along the innate control systems of the A320 in The Miracle on the Hudson. This sounds asinine beyond words.

Could anyone comment on that comment (or generalizations thereof)?

Leo

Who says this? What is meant by ‘helping along the innate control systems’?

I highly doubt there’s a “land plane on river” control system built into airplanes, but I’ll defer to the experts.

I’m no expert, but I can’t imagine a better answer than this Vanity Fair article:

Executive summary: it was an incredibly fortuitous combination of skill, guts and technology that came together.

There was some mention of the “Ditch Switch” in the new Airbuses, but all it did was close various ports (i.e. holes) in the aircraft in case of a water landing, not exactly an autopilot for it. And neither Sullenberger nor his First Officer got around to flipping it before they ditched (had a few other things on their minds), and the plane still stayed afloat.

For what its worth I setup my brother’s MS Flight Sim X (with full CH Yoke, Pedals, and Quadrant) with that exact aircraft type in its exact position, heading & altitude just out of LaGuardia where it hit the birds, plopped myself into the cockpit, killed the throttles, and hit start. And I only made it to the Hudson over the GW Bridge maybe one out of ten tries. My brother, who’s an actual pilot, faired a little better, but it was still not easy. Dead sticking an airliner is like guiding a barge with a canoe paddle…

Perhaps useful to the discussion, here’s a fascinating video that shows a realtime re-enactment:

I was on the edge of my seat.