The Moral Expectations of the Military

I have been pondering some things for many years now, and I suppose some of the recent threads on whether the altruistic use of violence is possible got me pondering some more. I don’t know where else to share these thoughts, so I will share them here:

America is somewhat obsessed with the idea that soldiers are “heroes.” I appreciate this. I do know people who have been physically assaulted by people who held an ideological opposition to the war effort, and the experience of contemporary soldiers has been, on the whole, far better than past generations. However, in the rush to avoid and ameliorate the errors of the Vietnam generation I believe we have created some unintended consequences.

Somewhere in the 90’s the idea emerged that military power could be applied altruistically. I believe this started with the Gulf War, which was as close to a “perfect” war as could be had: It was short, decisive, and the results were utterly lopsided in our favor. It was fought in defense of a people who had been invaded, which was palatable to the public and easily defensible. The Gulf War was also the start of the military’s fixation with precision weapons as a tool of public relations. This was also the decade in which many leaders on both sides of the aisle started to buy into the idea of altruistic military intervention. This philosophy came to a head in Kosovo, where the military put a great deal of effort into appeasing its critics by demonstrating the virtues of our precision “smart” weapons.