THE most important debate of 1999

Hey everyone. I poked around a bit and noticed that no one seems to be talking about Y2K…

Is it just hype? Just a way for freaks and fundamentatlists to get attention? A plot by programmers to take the money and run?

Or…
We’re ALL GONNA DIE!!! SAVE YOURSLEVES!!! AAAAAAEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!
Talk amongst yourselves.

Are YOU ready for Y2K? Take my advice: Panic early and avoid the rush.

I vote for hype. People with a lot more money than you or I could lose it all on the Y2K bug, so I imagine they take such things very seriously, and they have the resources to correct it. We won’t know until after Jan 1, but I don’t expect worse than a few messed up bills.

I have a friend who warned me in all seriousness not to be within 50 miles of a major city on New Year’s. I don’t plan to be, but that’s because there’s going to be 5 billion people attempting to have the party of the millenium.

“Eppur, si muove!” - Galileo Galilei

I’ve been a programmer for over 10 years, and I think it’s mostly hype. If people hadn’t started talking about it a couple of years ago and only discovered the potential problems last week, I’d be worried. But at this point, most major systems have been upgraded and fixed and whatnot.

I think there’ll be a lot of major systems that have no problems at all, a lot of minor systems that have little problems, and a few major systems that have major problems. The corporations with those major problems will fix them quickly (before February) or will risk going out of business. If the system with the problem belongs to the government, it could be 2001 before it gets fixed, but in that case we’ll do what we always do: grumble and trudge forward.

Rich

We’re all gonna die, so there’s not much point in talking about it. The only thing you can do is to follow ARG’s word and accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior so you’ll go to heaven when the clock strikes 12:00.

< Closed Captioned for the sarcasm impaired >