The most overrated restaurant in your city

I suppose what I’m really talking about are establishments whose fame and reputation far exceed the quality their actual food.

For my city, DC, it has to be Ben’s Chili Bowl. Yes, I am aware that its fame has little to nothing to do with the food itself, but if the food was all you had to go on there are hotdog carts that serve comparable food to Ben’s, IMO.

What’s yours?

I, too, live in DC, but rather than Ben’s I nominate Buck’s Fishing And Camping which routinely gets rave reviews and is picked for “Best of…” lists (mainly I think because it has a snooty owner/shef). I have been eating out in restaurants in DC for 45 years, an average of once or twice a week. That’s about 4,500 meals in restaurants. Undoubtedly, the worse dining experience of the lot was at Buck’s.