The Music and Magic of the Disney Animated Canon, Vol. 1: Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

The Walt Disney Company has been making us laugh, cry, get angry, whoop for joy, sing, dance, and fall in love since its first feature film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, in 1939. In this, the first part of an intended complete series of separate discussion threads about each movie in the Disney Animated Canon, we will discuss our memories of the movies, with what I hope will be a special emphasis placed on the music therein.

This is intended to be a weekly series, but just because a new thread opens up doesn’t mean you have to stop posting in the previous ones. I can also promise you that there will be, on occasion, schedule slip on my part, as I’m a college student. I’ll also need some help “chairing” the discussions on some of the movies I haven’t seen. Thus far, of the 53 movies in the canon, there are 16 of them that either I haven’t seen, or have seen precious little of. The first three of these will be movies #6, 8 and 10—Saludos Amigos, Make Mine Music, and Melody Time. If you can help with these, please let me know.

Something that will be a permanent part of the series is the poll at the top in which you list your favorite song; much like we did with The Beatles, ultimately I want to find out The Dope’s Pick for Greatest Song from the Disney Animated Canon. That series, in fact, was the catalyst behind this idea.

But enough preamble. Let’s get to the discussion!

It all began with Snow White in 1939. Sure, her voice is a little granny-like in retrospect (compared to, say, Cinderella’s), but her classic beauty and innocence, cheerful dry wit, and immediate promotion to head of the dwarfs’ household make for a fun character. Snow White’s youthful longing for a prince to come and show her what happiness is would set the stage for many Disney princesses—and millions of real-life young girls—to come.