The New Conservative Cultural Policy

A nice commentary on the Conservatives’ recently announced changes to government support of the arts. A phoque is not a phoque

Eso sería bueno-- Si hablé Francés.

A nice commentary except for those of us (most) who can’t speak fucking French. But, hey, bummer about the arts (or something). Those dicks!

It’s not a nice commentary. It’s an embarrassing attempt to denigrate English Canadians, including me. (Although I studied French in high school and understood most of the script.)

This is a disingenuous piece of BQ propaganda shit. Nothing else. If a similar anti-French piece of shit existed it would have major repercussions. But apparently making fun of the English in Canada is now OK.

Phoque you. Assholes.

You can get English subtitles by turning on Closed Captions in this link.

I took it as not denigrating the English but the Conservative/ex-Reform “Family Values” types that prompted the policy change in the first place.

What is the point of this except as Leaffan said to insult Anglophone Canada for our dastardly lack of speaking French, and to feel sorry for the poor, down-trodden Francophones?

Only an attempt? Jeeze, I manage to SUCCESSFULLY denigrate Canadians, English AND French speaking, all the time. What’s wrong with those losers? And why get all a-flitter about it? They’re just Canadians. Be like an American and ignore them. (BIG :wink: )

Blah blah blah, Stephen Harper is just like the Americans, blah blah blah. It’s pointless and dumb. And I understood every word.

Sadly, this is what passes for political debate these days. There’s no discussion of issues, priorities, and facts. It comes down to “Harper is a Nazi,” “Dion is a wimp,” “Layton is a jerk.”

So . . . he sings a song about a seal (phoque) and the government people think he said fuck, because they (inexplicably, since they were all presumably nine-year-olds at one time) don’t know that the French word for a seal sounds like fuck in English.